Structure, staff and board

Our Structure

The Geelong Community Foundation has been endorsed by the Australian Tax Office as a charity. Donations to the Foundation’s Gift Fund are tax deductible and the Foundation is exempt from tax.

It has been set up to support the people living in the City of Greater Geelong, the Borough of Queenscliffe, the Surf Coast Shire and the southern part of the Golden Plains Shire.

The Foundation is able to support charitable organisations across the full spectrum of health and welfare services, as well as cultural programs and projects that support our environment and assist indigenous residents living in our region.

The Foundation is governed by a volunteer board of Directors, with a wide range of skills and experience and an extensive knowledge of the community. Our staff are part-time employees and they have the support of various professional companies providing services at reduced or pro bono rates.

Our Staff and Board

Gail Rodgers

Gail commenced as Chief Executive Officer on 1 February 2016, succeeding inaugural Executive Officer Andrew Lawson who retired. Gail joins the Foundation with a distinguished career spanning roles in the…

Read more

Tony McManus

Tony joined the Foundation as Development Manager in June 2018. His background includes the role of the first Independent Chairman of a Headspace local consortium and was also an active…

Read more

Hayden Torney

Joined the Board in 2014. In 1989, Hayden left the teaching profession and, with his wife Sally, started Muirfield Financial Services. Over the past 26 years they have built Muirfield…

Read more

Lachlan McColl

Joined the Board in 2013. Lachie is a Director of Value ADE, providing business valuation services in the Geelong area. Prior to starting Value ADE in 2017, he was a…

Read more

Val Lawrence

Joined the Board in 1999.  Chairman 2009-2015. Val is a Civil Celebrant and currently the Vice Chairman of Red Cross Zone 6. She is also a Board member of the…

Read more

Carly Post

Joined the Board in March 2018. Carly is the owner and PR Director of Circus Media, a local communications agency. She holds a Bachelor of Arts (Public Relations) majoring in…

Read more

Mark Osborne

Joined the Board in 2018. Mark is currently a Senior Advisor for InvoCare Australia and Advisor, Mentor and Coach to Tuckers Funeral & Bereavement Service.  Previously the Victorian General Manager…

Read more

John Miles

Joined the Board in 2011. John Miles retired from a distinguished career at Marcus Oldham College spanning 31 years. His roles included Company Secretary and Deputy Principal Business and Development.…

Read more

Allana Goldsworthy

Joined the Board in 2018. Allana has been a resident of Geelong since 1982. After completing her Arts/Law degree at Monash University, she worked as a solicitor in Geelong for…

Read more

Andrew Locke

Joined the Board in 2017. Andrew is Executive Director of Adroit Insurance & Risk, a network of insurance broking and financial services businesses that operate largely throughout regional and metropolitan…

Read more

Bridgette Kelly

Joined the Board in 2019. Bridgette is a Senior Lawyer at Whyte Just & Moore Lawyers. She is a Law Institute of Victoria Accredited Specialist in Family law. Bridgette was…

Read more

David Lindsay

Joined the Board in 2014. David joined Wighton and McDonald Lawyers in 1984 and became a partner in 1986. He retired from Wightons Lawyers in 2013 following a successful career…

Read more
  • 1
  • 2